The Journey Begins

Hi there. About a month ago I decided that I would take on the challenge of making a documentary about what happened to the adoption of the metric system in the United States. Over the course of this blog I plan to keep readers informed regarding my progress. As of yesterday, I registered a treatment with the Writers Guild of America that forms the outline of what I’m planning for its content. Now that that’s done, I can go public and hope that I can find others who are interested in the very long story of why we are still using inches, miles, ounces and pounds, when most of the rest of the world has gone SI (Système international d’unités), or what we refer to as the metric system.

Even over the last month, I think I’ve made a lot of progress, but the story is just beginning.

If this goes according to plan, it will not only be a story of the metric system in the United States, but also the story of how I’m going about putting together and distributing a documentary in this new landscape of social media, super-lightweight cameras, and streaming video services.

Join me. I think it should be both fun and interesting.

I expect that I will ask for help along the way. Maybe you can contribute an idea or two.

I hope to post at least once a week.

Just so you know, “Mile behind” refers to my working title: “More than a mile behind: America and the metric system.” The sub heading might change a bit, but I’m going to stick with “Milebehind” for other media, because it’s shorter.

In my next blog I’ll tell you what led me to where I am now.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

