House of Genius Presentation

Wednesday evening I made my presentation to House of Genius in Albuquerque. It  went very well.

The House of Genius goal is, in it’s own words: “to assemble brilliant, diverse groups of people to focus their collective creativity and experience to explore, discuss and solve important problems.”

I thought it might be a good resource to get feedback and possibly connections that would help me move forward with my U.S. metric system documentary. One friend compared it to a focus group. Yes, but the folks in the room had business and other experience which makes it a super-powered focus group.

You are allotted five minutes for your presentation, then the panelists ask questions, make suggestions, etc. without your knowing exactly who these folks are until the end of the session.

While some of the comments where things I had already considered, I felt it would be best if I just shut up and listened. So that’s pretty much what I did.

I did get a variety of useful comments including using Reddit (which I don’t know much about) and the possibility of holding an essay contest for children on a metric-related topic such as “Why should America switch to the metric system?” Apparently there are places where you can get prizes for such activities. (Getting kids involved, possibly media coverage, these are good things.)

All in all, it was time very well spent (even with all the time I spent figuring out how to use Prezi for my messaging) since there was another data point I walked away with: everyone was very interested in the project. This continues to confirm for me that people are willing to listen to this story and consider whether it’s time that we review our current metric isolation. But first, people need to know it’s an issue and most people don’t.

I’ll get written notes on my session so I can fully digest everything people had to say. If you want to view my Prezi slides (without the narration of course) go to: http://prezi.com/en5nbkbdi4bq/mile-behind/. Feel free to comment.

If you’d like to learn more about House of Genius (they operate in about a dozen cities in the U.S. and one in Singapore), go to http://houseofgenius.org/.

I don’t know whether I’ll blog next weekend due to the holiday, but maybe that’s a good time to post since people will have additional time off to read my drivel.

I’ll mention new posts on Twitter and my brand-, spanking-new facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/milebehind

Enjoy you week and the holiday. Share it with people you like and your relatives.
; > )

Linda

One thought on “House of Genius Presentation

Leave a Reply

